Superman: Doomsday (2007)

From IMDB:

When LexCorps accidentally unleash a murderous creature, Doomsday, Superman finally meets his greatest challenge as a champion. Based from the award-winning “The Death of Superman” trilogy.

From the creators of Batman: Mask of the Phantasm (1993) comes another Warner Brothers straight to DVD animated feature Superman: Doomsday. It is put forth with the same stylish animation that has been so successful over the years that you have come to expect from the daily D.C. comics series that is pushed to the masses for all to see.

While this may be ok for something that is original in content I find it a little disappointing for something that is as iconic as this. I would have really enjoyed a higher production value and really expected more of a battle between Doomsday and the Man of Steel. I never read the graphic novel so I don’t have a lot of reference to this but from what I remember the Death and Return of Superman spanned several comic books and the graphic novel gave enough source material to really stretch this movie out longer than the 77 minute run time that it allowed for. I just felt really rushed through the battle with Doomsday. Though the voice acting could have been a touch better it wasn’t distracting from the plot. That’s all the complaining that I am going to do about this for now.

As far as entertainment goes, I enjoyed the film quite a bit and it did give me a look at a piece of Americana that I missed when it was out the first time around. It really makes me want to read the old series more. I know that there has to be something that I missed by watching this film but I digress I don’t know what that is right now because I am not really into D.C. comics that much. Though I do feel that I have shut off a part of me because I never took the time to enjoy this part of Superman lore before now.

I know that there are going to be fan boys out there that will say this is a “Must have ” title but you may want to watch this with your children if you are thinking about getting the movie for them. It may raise some questions about mortality that some parents aren’t ready to address with their kids just yet. If you are all good with that then I say give it a rent and then decide if you want to have this DVD take up any more valuable shelf space.

For those that are really into the Superman lore and feel that their collection just isn’t complete it’s a good fit. For the rest of us out there take a look first then decide. It’s not great but it’s definitely not a waist of money.

It’s still better than Superman Returns (2006).

This movie gets 2.5/5 stars from me and a 4/5 stars for the real Superman fans out there.

Leave a Reply

